Parenting in the Time Of Tablets

The Smart Parenting May issue comes bundled with the latest issue of Super Mom. The “Parenting In The Time of Tablets” article of SuperMom helps me alot on how to deal with my child in todays high-tech world. Me and my hubby are both in the IT world and it’s part of our life already. But we don’t want to over expose Cyler in the high-tech gadgets, we want him to be able to experience the real world. When I was a little kid I used to climb in the trees and even in the roof. Hehe And we used to play patintero, mataya-taya, doctor quack-quack, tagu-taguan, etc. This got me thinking about how many of our fave activities as a child have now been altered in the digital age.I know it’s really different now, but I still want him to be able to experience the same thing that I experience back when I was a child (climbing in the roof is not included,hehe). For me, nature is the best playground evaah, I must say. And I want him to experience how it feels like in the outside world coz the real thing is much, much harder deal that takes real practice. We don’t have any yaya to look after him especially on weekends, as much as possible Hubby and I don’t really want a yaya, we want to raise our son on our own. Sometimes I feel so guilty coz we let Cyler watch the tv or let him play my iPhone in order to do our chores. My mother or my sister used to look after him on weekdays, I’m really thankful and I feel so blessed coz I don’t have to worry about Cyler when I’m at work. Anyhoo, back to my topic, it’s true that techie gadgets is a great way to distract the kids, but it shouldn’t turn into a full-time babysitter. Nowadays, most of the kids will choose to stay in front of the computer than to play outside. And I don’t want that to happen on my own child, I won’t let it happen. Lemme share with you some of the advices that I got from SP.

Lowdown:
• Kids who spend too much time at the computer are missing out on other activities fundamental to their physical, social, and emotional development.
• Kids often watch videos or play video games alone, can cause social isolation.
• If your child regulary play games with plots based on violence and aggression, he’s at risk for increased aggresive behavior.

Upside:
• Tablets and smartphones are sometimes a very effective learning tool.
• Exposing your child to such high-tech gadgets does not make you a bad parent (wew! I feel relief), as long as its usage is properly supervised and in moderation.

20120508-203356.jpg
Look how this thing captures his whole attention.

These are the things that I learned from SP. Wether we like it or not it is the way of the future, as a parent the best thing that we can do is to set a limit to how much our child should spend in the world of tablets.

P.S. Thanks again SP for the very informative article! It helps me alot! Superb! 🙂

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

