Cyler’s Charlie and the Numbers Themed Birthday Party: Candy Buffet

I have attended lots of birthday parties and I noticed that the Candy Corner wasn’t noticed by most guests and even by the kids and I guess the main reason behind that is because the design is not so catchy to the eyes and tummies. And so, I spend much time conceptualizing the candy buffet on how to make it feast for both eyes and tummies. As I mentioned in my previous birthday post, I want the theme to be consistent in everything — this includes the candy corner. My BIL, Kuya Francis and my CIL, Jus helped me out in conceptualizing the design for the candy buffet. The candy buffet didn’t hurt our bank accounts (that much), since most of the sweet treats were gifts. I got really inspired by all the candy buffet that I saw in the awesome site Hostess with the Mostess.

Presenting our very own Candy Buffet

We had various candies in the buffet like gummy bears, gummy worms, jelly, lollies, assorted candies, smarties and marshmallows c/o of my CIL, Ate Gigi. Most of the candies are bought from S&R and SM Supermarket. The candy buffet also had cookies, I bought 4 boxes of cookies at S&R for Php99/box only. The cookies caught my attention when we went shopping at S&R cause it’s very colorful, the designs was so cute and was really catchy to the eyes. When I tasted the cookies, I find it not too sweet, the taste was just right and it melts on your mouth, and I think it’s perfect for the kids!  My office mate said that his son love the cookies from the candy buffet. And we also had chocolate flavored cuppies or cupcake from Sweet Creations by Mums (they’re my cake supplier too). The cupcake cost Php40/ea including the topper. My CIL, Jus made the design layout for the topper, we just gave the soft copy of the design to our supplier and they are the one who print it out.  Most of the guests said that the cupcake was very moist and not too sweet, just right. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to taste it cause it was almost wipe off even before the party started! Everybody likes it! Supposed to be our supplier for the cupcake was my previous supplier, the one that I had in Cyler’s Christening, but one week before the event she backed out due to personal matter, which is totally understandable. Even though she wasn’t able to accommodate our order, she still allowed us to borrow her cupcake tower, how nice,right?! Another good thing was my cake supplier, Sweet Creations by Mums was able to accept my order for cuppies even if they only had one week prepping time. God is really good all the time! 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And of course, if there’s upside there is also a downside. Last March, I saw a cake-pops promo at Ensogo the price was really cheap and so I bought 4 dozens of it. After buying, I immediately called the supplier  for my reservation. The pick up date I gave them was June 2, the day before the event. Fast forward June 2, we went to the bakeshop to pick up my orders. I approached the counter and asked for my reservations then she told me that I don’t have any reservations to them. WATDA.. FUDGE! Na-highblood ang lola ninyo! Imagine, I called them twice, tapos sasabihin nila wala?! Oh common, mamon, hamon! Anyare?! My goodness! They told me to re-schedule my reservation and I said “NO” because we need that tomorrow. I told them that if they won’t make it today they need to refund my money. They are selling cake-pops but they don’t have any cake pops available on their shop, now how in the world was that? My gulay! So, they don’t have any choice but to refund my money.  Super duper EPIC FAIL! The name of the bakeshop was Ciocolato Cupcakery it is located at Hobbies of Asia Macapagal Blvd.,Pasay City. Oh well, first impression lasts they just gave a negative impression to their shop. I hope you won’t experience this epic supplier tragedy. Alright, forget about the cake pops mishaps, the party must go on no matter what happened.

Anyhoo, here’s some of the DIYs in the candy buffet:

The cast of Charlie and the Numbers

Birthday banner c/o my in-laws

Personalized name banner

Moving forward, besides from the yummy treats we also had DIYs on the candy buffet. We print all the characters of Charlie and the Numbers in a short bond paper; we cut it, glued it on a stick and poke it into the Styrofoam. We also had a birthday and name banner in the candy buffet.  And I also added some “eat me” sign in every cups and candy container. And viola! Our candy buffet was indeed very appetizing for both eyes and tummies to all our guests. I’m so happy because everybody loves the candy buffet not only the kids, but the kids at heart as well. The sweets are almost wipe off even before the party started. Good thing there’s still few more left for the late comers. Also, it feels so great with all the compliments that I received from our guests, it was priceless. Thank you so much! 🙂

Special thanks to my BIL, Kuya Francis for helping me conceptualizing this candy buffet and the party as well, to my CIL, Ate Gigi for the candies, to my CIL, Jus for all the designs layout, and to all our guest for munching the yummy treats! 🙂

Sweet Creations by Mums Contact Info:

Tel: +632 – 477 – 9874
Email: jtuazon@scbymums.com
Mobile: +63927 – 251 – 1922

Like them on Facebook: SBCM

6 thoughts on “Cyler’s Charlie and the Numbers Themed Birthday Party: Candy Buffet

  1. I didn’t realize at first that your theme is my son’s fave TV show on Baby TV, until I saw the pic (a zoom version) of charlie and the numbers. I was like “OH!” hihi. Hi there! A first time mommy here and I chanced upon your blog when I was searching for a venue for my boy’s first birth day. I must say, I love your terminologies, the kikay ones especially (natatawa ako mag isa dito sa table sa office hehe). Can I ask your permission? I want also a Charlie and the numbers theme for my son, coz I also love that show because of the british twang. =) I also got a lot of inputs from your candy buffet, like you, my husband is also fond of shopping at S&R. No really, I admire your passion for blogging, makes me wanna create my own..hehe gudluck with my oh so demanding work. Ciao and gracias!

    • Hi Mommy Zerrah! Thanks for the kind words, kilig naman ako! Go lang get the idea para mas madali na ang party planning for you. I posted all my suppliers here (check it on the lower left widget) maybe it helps you.

      Share the wonders of motherhood to the world! I’m a working mom too, naging hobby nalang talaga ang pagblo-blog. Masaya eh especially when I inspire people like you, Moms. 🙂

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

