KMS Bake: My Family’s Very Own Carrot Cake Recipe

Hi friends! How’s your long vacay?! Bitin noh? Hay. Anyhoo, guys this is it! Finally, nakapag-bake na ang lola ninyo! I had the chance to bake when we visited Antipolo (my hometown) this long vacay. We stayed there for three days, pero it was still bitin. Time is like a blink of an eye when you’re enjoying. Hay. Anyhoo, I will share with you about our stay there after this post. But for now lemme just share my family’s very own carrot cake recipe.

As mentioned from my previous cooking posts I really love baking but I can’t do it because we don’t have any over here in Caloocan, and I miss baking so badly. So, this time I was given a chance to bake and allow me to share to y’all this precious recipe that I got from my family. It’s one of my ultimate and all time favorite cake when I was a little and until now. This recipe was an old recipe of my Tita Nanin and every time I visit our house in Antipolo we usually bake this cake. You know why I really love carrot cake? I love this not only because of it’s yummy taste but because I have a poor eyesight, and you know carrots are rich in Vitamin A. Actually, I don’t like eating carrots especially when it is mix in any viand, I know it’s weird but that’s how it goes. This is the only carrot recipe that I like to eat and I really don’t know why. 🙂

Obviously, this recipe was written a very long time ago by my Tita Nanin. Like kopong-kopong of years ago.

So, this time allow me to share to y’all our family’s carrot cake recipe.

Watchunid:

  • 2 Cups sifted flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup oil
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cups brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup raisins or walnuts (I use raisins since I can’t find any walnut in the market. This ingredient is optional)

Take Note: The said ingredients are good for 1 pan only.

Cooking Steps:

1.  In large bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients– flour, baking soda, cinnamon, baking powder, brown sugar. Filter all dry ingredients by using stainless strainer.

2.  Add oil and blend.

Use an electronic (if you have any) mixer to lessen the effort and time.

3. Add egg one at a time and beat after each addition:

Stir just until moistened.

4. And lastly, add carrots and blend.

Mix well until moistened 🙂

5. Spread butter in a pan.

6. Start pouring the batter on the side and eventually it will spread equally on the pan.

7. Bake in centre of 350°F- 370°F oven for 40 minutes or until cake tester inserted in centre comes out clean.

Bonus tip: Trust your sense of smell: the fresh aroma of butter and sugar wafting out of the oven can be the signal to check the cake. A fully baked cake will spring back when touched in the center. The cake also draws away from the side of the pan, and a cake tester (a toothpick or knife works well) inserted in the center comes out clean. Also, when cakes emerge from the oven, their structure is set, but the set is still fragile. Let cakes stand in pans on rack for time, usually 15 to 20 minutes.

It’s really good, I love the amazing flavor of carrot and cinnamon, perfect combination! I super kaduper enjoyed our stay there, it’s just sad because we don’t have enough time to bake some more, but I will definitely bake again when we go back there. Oh, btw I forgot something here… I forgot to buy ingredients for the frosting. Hehe But you can also do it, just follow the ingredients written in the above kopong-kopong photo. All you have to do is to mix all the ingredients and spread over top of cake. That’s it pansit! 🙂

Special thanks to my sister Isang and cousin Vienne for helping me out in the whole baking process. I can’t make it alone without their help. 🙂

This Carrot Cake Recipe is moist and has an amazing flavor, not to mention the carrot is rich in Vitamin A. This recipe is really good for those people who has poor eyesight and doesn’t like to eat carrots (like ME)! This is definitely a keeper. Your family and friends will surely enjoy.

Happy cooking guys! 🙂

P.S. Grabeycious! Nakaka-pagod palang mag lagay ng label kada picture! As in! It took me one and a half hour to finish the whole editing. My gulay! But definitely worth it, ayan may copy right na mga photos ko. Wahahaha! #BuhayRetarded

6 thoughts on “KMS Bake: My Family’s Very Own Carrot Cake Recipe

  1. matagal ko ng pangarap mgbake… at kahit na may nagregalo pa sa akin ng oven nung wedding last year e hanggang ngayon di pa rin ako ngttry haha di ko alam kung bakit…. pero this recipe looks real easy!!! matry nga next long weekend hihihi 😀

    you really have to label your photos… big lesson ko talaga yan kasi may isang blogger na gumamit ng photo ko di man lang ako inacknowledge…. 😦 kaya tyagain mo hehehe pero may software na pwedeng gamitin for mass labeling… google mo… 😀

    • Hi sis, naku you are bless kasi may oven kau! Haha! You better try this lagyan mo ng frosting pra mas masarap. Perfect ‘to sa mga kids! Your little boy will surely love this. 🙂

      And about labeling cge i’ll google that, actually matagal nakong sinasabihan ng mga friends ko na lagyan ng label ung mga photos ko lalo na nung may nag copy ng mga posts ko. Anyway issue-resolved na un. Im happy kc sinipag ako today though it took me almost 2hrs to finish that. Hahaha! Career mode ang lola mo. Haha!

  2. mallows!!! patikim naman nito, dati mo pa kinikwento to sakin na masarap ung carrot caka nyo hehehe..pagbalik ko ahh.. 🙂
    ayan sa wakas nilagyan mo na ng watermark ung pics, pra kahit hiramin ung pic sa ibang blog, may credits agad sa blog mo hehehe 🙂
    nkabli na pala me ng olive, ttry ko na sana umepek sakin :)) hehehe
    btw, i like the new background!!! and color!! 🙂

    • Sureness Mars! Cge noted yan pagbalik mo. Sumama kana din sa antipolo pag balik ko dun. Haha!

      Oo nga buti nga after 49yrs sinipag nako mag lagay ng water mark ekler na yan. Hahaha!

      Good kung nakabili kana ng olive, magiging kasing flawless mo na si Annita. Hahaha!

    • Korak! Dapat lakihan kc pag inedit yan waley na!

      At isa pang malaking check! There’s no room for mistake when it comes to baking, dapat tlga precise lahat ng measurements ng ingredients kung hindi.. waley palpak ang cake! 🙂

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

