The Importance and Benefits of Breastfeeding to Mother and Child

August is the Breastfeeding month. Lots of mom bloggers shared their thoughts and story about breastfeeding, and as a tribute I also wanted to share my breastfeeding story.

Even before Cyler was born it was already set in my mind that I will breastfeed my son, even if my mom didn’t nurse me when I was a little baby. I know breast milk is still the best milk for my baby and the benefits of breastfeeding extend well beyond basic nutrition. When Cyler was born I was so happy because I’m one of the lucky mom who is capable of producing breast milk, not all moms are blessed with abundant milk, right? So this newbie momma was really happy. Nursing my baby for the very first time is very emotional, the bond that it give us was extraordinary, it’s like we’ve known each other for the very long time. I didn’t expect THAT I am capable of nursing him, considering that I have a small breast (size doesn’t really matter though). For a first time mom like me, it can be very difficult although it’s a natural process that every mom has to go through. I admit it was really hard and having the right support is crucial to successful breastfeeding.

20120830-204955.jpg
Cyler’s first glimpse to the world. Our first ever bond. 🙂

I remember myself crying because it was really painful especially when the boobs become engorge, I don’t have a choice but to pump it from time to time in order to ease the pain. Despite of that I feel so blessed because I had abundant supply of breast milk for Cyler. It takes few weeks for me and my baby to get the hang of it, but as time goes by it gets a lot easier. I undergone C- section but I chose not to rest because I know that I need to take care of my baby, I need to wake up in the middle of the night to nurse him, I need to carry him and cuddle him, I know he needs me and he depends on me. And I guess I made the right choice, Cyler is the main reason why I recovered so fast. Some says nursing can’t be successful for the mother who had a c-section, I say — hell no! This is not really true. As a matter of fact breastfeeding can help normalize the experience of an operative birth and it also reduces your stress level.

I am not complaining even if it really hurts on the first suck, what I’m trying to say is being a mother means a lot of sacrifices. Breastfeeding is the most wonderful gift from God, so share it with your child.

When I go back to work after my maternity leave, what I did was I used to nurse him before I go to work and I need to come home early to breastfeed him, but I know it’s not enough. So we started giving him formula milk, suddenly after few weeks Cyler decided, on his own, to weaned, just like that, and I’m feeling bereft. I’ve tried forcing him to but that only resulted to either chuckles from him or really annoyed baby, and the saddest part– he didn’t want my breastmilk anymore. Sad to say Cyler weaned that early, just like that. It was really devastating because I only breastfeed him for three months.

Oh, I remember he never get sick when I’m still nursing him until he weaned, that’s the only time he get sick. Truly, weaning is not just about breastfeeding thing or parenting attachment, it’s also about your baby’s health. Breast milk is packed with vitamins and nutrients that your baby needs, and is also packed with disease-fighting substances that protect your baby from illness. Studies have shown that breastfeeding can reduce a child’s risk of developing certain childhood cancer.

If I have a choice I will still nurse Cyler, but he weaned, just like that. So to all the mommies and mommies-to be please breastfeed your child even if it hurts (and hard). You think you don’t have milk (I also did!)? Yes you do! You just don’t see it. Trust your bodies– you have milk!

20120830-205341.jpg
Cyler was two months old here, now tell me does he looks like starving? Do you think my milk is not enough?

You think it will make you losyang?! No, it’s not true! It will make you feel better and eventually will make you look better.

20120830-205616.jpg
This is me six months after giving birth to Cyler. Now tell me do I look like losyang?.. Slight lang naman diba?! ;p

And here’s some of the importance and benefits of breastfeeding to you and your child:

• Breastfeeding protects your baby from illness. Numerous studies shows from around the world have shown that illnesses and infections occur less often in breastfed babies and are less severe when they do happen.
• It also protects your babies from allergies.
• Breastfeeding benefits not only the baby but the mother as well. It help new mothers shed the baby weight. It’s true, because it happened to me even if I only breastfeed for three months. I lose weight so fast!
• Breastfeeding may boost your child’s intelligence.
• It also helps your child from obesity.
• It also reduce stress level and your risk of postpartum depression. I feel relaxed while breastfeeding.
• And it also reduce your risk of cancer. Numerous studies have found that longer women breastfeed, the more they’re protected against breast and ovarian cancer.

Source: www.babycenter.com

These are just some of the good benefits of breastfeeding. I am encouraging all mommies and mom-to-be to breastfeed your babies. Our child’s health is the most important to us, so start nursing your child. Be glad and be proud of it! Breastfeeding is God’s gift for all of us moms, so let us share it with our child (or donate it). 🙂

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

