KMS Cooks: Gising-gising Ala Kikay Mommy Sha

 I’ve always wanted and dreamed to cook this dish and I’m glad to say that finally it has been push through, medyo sablay nga lang pero keribels na! I’ve been craving for gising-gising ever since I have tasted it at ABE Restaurant in Trinoma. It was really heaven! This dish is indeed economical, and if you’re a frugalicious momma (which I am trying to be) this is the perfect dish for you! And if you’re Bicolana (like me!) this is definitely a big hit for you! Dishes that combine coconut milk and chili’s traditionally originate from the Bicol Region but boy oh boy I was wrong because this is a Capampangan dish but is relatively similar to Bicol express. It is made up of pork, shrimp, or fish cooked in coconut milk. Most people use shrimp paste or bagoong in this dish but I didn’t add it anymore since I’m using shrimp already. I wanted to cut cholesterol because shrimp is really high in cholesterol. Ayoko naman ma-highblood lahat ng kakain ng niluto ko! Hehe

Here’s watchunid baby!

  • Baguio beans (Cut the Baguio beans into small pieces, you can also use kangkong stem instead)
  • shrimp (remove from the shells)
  • onion (dice)
  • garlic (dice)
  • coconut milk
  • green chili’s or you can also use siling labuyo if you want a more spicy sauce.  (Chop the chilli depends on your desired cut because some people just cut it into halves. In my case I cut it into cubes since I wanted a rich taste of the chilli)

EZ-PZ step:

  1. Saute onion and garlic, drizzle a little salt.
  2. Pour the coconut milk into the pan, let it simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add Baguio beans and continue stirring for 5 to 7 minutes. This depends how crisp you like your vegetables.
  4. Add shrimp, cook till it turns into light pink, drizzle with salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Serve with rice and smile! 🙂

And here’s my semi-fail Gising-gising!

It suppose to be a bit dry but it turned into a soup! LOL! Nag-enjoy kasi ako kakapiga ng niyog, I didn’t notice na napakarami ko palang nilagay na water. Ayun! But don’t get me wrong, it’s still taste like gising-gising though. #DefensiveMuch

I brought some of this dish at the office and my office mates liked it, they surely did!  Oh how I love the sweet and spicy taste of the coconut milk plus the shrimp! For me, it was a perfect combination! This pure Bicolana was indeed happy and giddy with this dish! It’s a must try, baby! But make sure not to use plenty of coconut milk (errr…like what I did) or else… it will turn into a yummy soup! Happy cooking!

6 thoughts on “KMS Cooks: Gising-gising Ala Kikay Mommy Sha

    • Yun lang, uy I’ve got allergy din sa hipon pero after I gave birth nawala, before kasi makakain lang ako ng konti nag-eevolve ako into Ogre. as in! But surprisingly biglang nawala after I gave birth, I don’t know baka nasanay lang din ung body ko, di ko kasi mapigilan kumain eh. haha!

      In fairness madali lang talaga to lutuin noh?! I’ll check your version! 🙂

  1. bakit orangy ang sabaw? hihihihi dahil ba sa shrimps? 😀 ako naman, ang version ko ng gising gising e parang adobong pork na nilagyan ng chopped sitaw! haha mas marami ang pork! 😀

    • Hahaha! Yup dahil sa shrimps, pinakuluan ko kc ung mga ulo ng shrimps ginawa kong sabaw! Hahaha! Naging soup! Epic fail! LOL

      At least mukang wakey-wakey yung sau! Haha! Yung luto ko di mo aakalain na gising-gising eh. Hahaha!

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

