Patience is a Virtue

…in Baking and in Business.

These are the things that I learned from the book that I’m currently reading. Today, I posted the photo below in our Facebook Page and in my personal account, I wanted to share it to everyone else because I believe patience is so important to everyone else’s life. Not only in business or in baking, but also in our daily lives.ย  See, I’m taking my hobby (aka baking) seriously, it’s not just a simple hobby anymore. It’s my passion and my love. And I want to nurture this and share it to everybody.

Baking is like a long-lost-love for me. I used to bake before (hindi lang talaga halata), yes you read it right. But when I started working I stopped baking due to lack of time and because I moved here in Manila. My Tita(Aunt) Nanin was my mentor in baking, I owe all my baking skills and knowledge to her. Well, actually I owe her everything. I won’t be successful in my career without her help. She took care of me and my siblings when our parents got separated, she supported our studies, and she’s always there for us. She never leave us. Oh I’m starting to get teary, sorry for the drama folks. Anyhoo, going back to the topic… I love to cook, BUT baking means a lot to me. Sometimes, it’s really hard to figure out what you really like to do. When I started baking againย  I never thought that this skills would help me A LOT in finding what I really love. It’s a kind of thing that I wanted to do everyday, it’s like taking good care of my family. And it feels so good and relaxing whenever I bake.

I never thought that my love in baking will be my key to success. Well, I know I’m just starting and I’m not claiming to be the next Cupcake Queen like Cupcakes by Sonja or Vanilla Cupcakery… I’m faaaaar beyond that! But I do believe that NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE WITH A DREAMER, right? Yes or yes?! Yessss! Amen to that! When I started baking cupcakes it never came across my mind that I want to open up a business. I just want to be reunited with my old love. That’s it! I just want to bake for my family. But when my office-mate’s, neighbors, friends, and even my boss tasted the cupcakes they told me that I should start selling it. Being a newbie in cupcake, I didn’t take it seriously. Not until they started bugging me about it. Everyday, they would call me or ask me if I’m selling my cupcakes already. So one day, I talked to my husband and the rest of my family and friends, I asked them if I really had the guts to start-up a business. And they all said “YES!” with four thumbs-up(including the feet’s thumb). So with all the encouragement and kind words I started my small business. I started selling it with my friends and as time goes by my friend’s friend ordered more cupcakes from me. From red-velvet cupcakes, I started experimenting with new flavors like chocolate and vanilla. And when I started receiving tons of order we decided to put up an online shop for our small business. Now that’s the birth of Sweet Treat’s. We opened our online cupcake-shop last February 1, so far so good. We’ve got more orders now. As a matter of fact, last Valentine’s day we baked 200++ cupcakes for that special occasion. I was dead tired but I’m not complaining. After working at the office, I was rushing to go home because there are bunch of cupcakes that needs to get bake! Thank goodness my sister was there to helped me out. I owe her A LOT! I finished baking at around 1AM, it was really tiring but fulfilling. Thank God for those wonderful blessing!

Personalized Valentine’s Cupcake

And it’s thrilling to see how our cupcakes have become part of the story of so many relationships.

Here’s some of the cupcakes that I baked for our customers:

This one is my favorite among all my creations. It’s so dainty, isn’t it? I made this for a Christening and I also gave this to my fellow mom-bloggers in our get-together.

And there, those are some of my many creations so far. If you want to see more designs, please do visit our Facebook Page here.

I am currently experimenting on fondant, but we will launch it real soon on Sweet Treats.. so watch out for that!

Here’s the teaser:

Too cute to eat right? ๐Ÿ™‚

We will be launching more flavors in the coming days so that’s something that you need to look forward! For now bibitin ko muna kayo! I don’t want to be a spoiler! Pero alam ko na-spoil ko na kayo! LOL!

Anyhoo, here’s something that I want to leave with you. In business, it’s very tempting to race ahead with your plans too soon. You want your business to boom in an instant, of course. But it’s better to take your time to perfect your product before you expand. Part of being successful is knowing your ideas are FULLY BAKED and ready to improve upon. It takes time to get the word out, time for people to learn about you and appreciate what you have to offer, so be patient. Remember, PATIENCE IS A VIRTUE!

And make sure that you love what you are doing. Baking is not all about copying the exact ingredients or measurements, it’s about passion and love.

19 thoughts on “Patience is a Virtue

    • Hi Badet, it’s a cook book actually. It was a cookbook with such inspiring stories of the author. And I got so inspired by it.

      Don’t worry magdadala uli ako ng madaming free taste on our next playdate! ๐Ÿ™‚

  1. So happy for you Sha! Iba talaga if you’re doing what you love ano? I really hope and pray your business will thrive. ๐Ÿ™‚ And maybe, in the future, when you baking moms can teach us (baking dummies – who’s with me? haha baka ako na lang di marunong mag bake pala) the how-tos. I super love sweets and would love to learn how to bake someday too (pero for pleasure lang, no plans of ever competing with you guys! support na lang akech hihi).

    • Thanks a lot, Faye! It’s true pag love mo talaga ginagawa mo you excel a lot and you improve. Oh sure i-set natin yang baking 101 natin next time! I’m not aiming to be the most popular baker in the country naman, that’s too much. hahaha! I just want them to know that everything I bake is made with nothing but pure love. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hello there, Sha!

    I’m a small-time home baker, and I’m so happy to read your success story. ๐Ÿ™‚ Nakaka-inspire! I look forward to the day when I can also grow my business.

    “In business, itโ€™s very tempting to race ahead with your plans too soon. You want your business to boom in an instant, of course. But itโ€™s better to take your time to perfect your product before you expand. Part of being successful is knowing your ideas are FULLY BAKED and ready to improve upon. It takes time to get the word out, time for people to learn about you and appreciate what you have to offer, so be patient. Remember, PATIENCE IS A VIRTUE!” — I will definitely be keeping this in mind!

    Good luck to you and to Sweet Treats!

  3. super lovely ng cupcakes mo, Sha. sana matikman ko din, one of these days… mahirap ba magbake? parang nainspire tuloy ako… kumain ng cupcake (hindi magbake ๐Ÿ˜› LOL) More power and God bless for Sweet Treats!

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

