The Very Hungry Caterpillar and the Little Bookworm


Photo grabbed from Google

The Very Hungry Caterpillar is a children’s picture book designed, illustrated and written by Eric Carle. This book stands firmly on position 6 in the Top 100 Classical Children’s Book Of All Time.This is my little bookworm’s current favorite book. He loves reading this book every now and then. And whenever he hears me or his Daddy saying some lines from the book he would rush towards us and he automatically sits on our lap. He even memorized every pages by heart, that’s how he love the book.

This book contains a little bit of biology and it’s pretty straightforward– a caterpillar eats whatever comes across until he become a fat caterpillar and soon it’s time to cocoon and become a beautiful and colorful butterfly. That’s how the story goes, see I memorized the book by heart as well! It’s has a very simple story with a little bit of biology.


He loves to read the book all by himself!

And here’s a video of my little bookworm while reading his favorite book. Enjoy listening! Medyo tatabingi lang ng konti ang mga face ninyo at mapapa-chinese nga lang kayo ng konti! :p

So how is it? Did you understand what he’s saying? If not, here’s the translation– he says red, red, red, yeyow (yellow), yeyow, yeyow, byu(blue), byu, byu, byawn (brown), byawn, byawn! Blah-blah-blah! Hehe

And because he loves caterpillar, he instantly fell in-love with this caterpillar toy that he saw at Doc Vienne’s clinic. Good thing, it isn’t a real caterpillar (remember I’m afraid of crawling creatures) because if it’s real…. boy oh boy! I don’t know what to do! *faint*

Cj and I are pondering if we will give him a Caterpillar Themed birthday party for his 2nd birthday. A car themed party is cool, my little boy will surely like it (he surely does!) but a caterpillar themed birthday party is more unique and I guess it rocks! Lalo na kung madaming caterpillars all over the venue! Of course, I’m just kidding! Baka nasa hospital nako bago pa mag-start ang party dahil sa heart-attack! But one thing is for sure, it will be so much fun! πŸ™‚

Btw, do you know any store where we can buy this caterpillar push-and-pull thingy? If yes, please do tell us! Cyler go gaga over this toy!

4 thoughts on “The Very Hungry Caterpillar and the Little Bookworm

    • Hello there, Mommy! I purchased the book at Booksale, you can visit their site so you can check out the nearest branch to your place. They used to sell preloved books but most of the books are still in good condition. I also saw this book at National book store but it’s kinda pricey. I usually buy Cyler’s book at Booksale coz it’s cheaper there so mas madami akong nabibili. Hehe

      And oh regards to Tyler says Cyler! πŸ™‚

  1. Hello Mommy Sha! I wasn’t able to find The Very Hungry Caterpillar in Booksale but I did find Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? Buying in Booksale was quite an experience for me, thanks to your suggestion. I shall be writing a post about it soon and I will mention you there ha πŸ™‚ Thanks again!

    • Hi Mommy! Oh no worries! It’s my pleasure to help you, it’s good to hear that you find a great book at Booksale. You really need patience in finding the book because there are tons of book at Booksale. Great find, btw!

      Thanks in advance for the mention! Have a great week ahead! πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

