Wyeth ProMama Mama YES You Can! Event

When I was pregnant with my firstborn (my one and only child…at least for now) child, Cyler I was really paranoid and I didn’t know what to do then because I have no idea about pregnancy. Everything was change, my body was changing drastically and I really don’t know what to do. When I announced about my pregnancy, I was bombarded with homespun advice from family, friends and even strangers who base their beliefs on hearsay or accepted ideologies. I heard A LOT of pregnancy myths when I was pregnant and most of the time I ended up getting more confuse and upset because of these so many “can’t” during pregnancies. So I always read books, ask my OB, read parenting magazine, and I always ask my very reliable source, Mr. Google. But still…it’s not enough. They say if you’re pregnant maraming bawal at hindi dapat for you and your baby– they say you can’t exercise, you can’t eat this, you can’t eat that, you can’t travel, you can’t do this, you can’t do that, yadah-yadah…. mainly because it may harm your baby and most of the time it only confuse us especially the first time Moms. That’s why I feel grateful and blessed to become part of Wyeth ProMama Yes You Can! event held at Lolo Dad’s Brassiere last Wednesday, May 15, 2013. The event aims to empower all expectant moms against pregnancy myths and misconceptions. I learned SO much in this event and so I wanted to share it to y’all. I’m pretty sure it will help you a lot too, especially all the expectant Mommies out there! You’re lucky if you read this post because this post will enlighten you so much, just like it did to me.

Wyeth Nutrition, formerly Pfizer Nutrition, is part of Nestlé S.A. Wyeth Nutrition develops premium-quality nutritional products scientifically-designed to meet the needs of infants and young children, pregnant and lactating mothers, and adults. As pioneers in infant nutritional science, our mission is to provide the best nutritional support for future healthy outcomes. For nearly a century, Wyeth Nutrition has leveraged scientific research, world class manufacturing and product safety standards to drive scientifically-sound solutions that offer parents confidence, help nourish children and support their healthy futures. It employs the same level of excellence in delivering nutrient-rich products to adults.”

Listening to Wyeth ProMama’s team of Fit and Fab Mamas Amanda Griffin-Jacob, Delamar Arias, and Tricia Chiongbian-The team is joined by respected pregnancy experts Dra. Christia Padolina and Dra. Angel Bandola.

These may sound logical; but believe it or not, these are some of the most common pregnancy myths around. And here are the 5 common pregnancy myths that all first time Moms are encountering during their pregnancy days:

Can I color my hair?
Yes you can, the absorption in the scalp is very minimal says Dra. Christia Padolina and Dra. Angel Bandola. They say that hair dye is not connected with child’s abnormality, so there’s nothing to worry about hair treatment. And also it depends on the Mom if she likes it or not. Delamar says she loves getting her hair dye even when she’s pregnant because it boost her confident and it makes her feel more better.

Can I travel ?
Yes you can, the best time to travel is when you are in your 2nd trimester and as long as you have your doctor’s permit says Dra. Christia Padolina and Dra. Angel Bandola. Amanda and Delamar shared that they were able to travel by plane on their 2nd and 3rd trimester because their OB’s permitted them to do so. Seeking for your doctor’s approval is a must when traveling.

Can I exercise?
Yes you can, as long as it’s not hardcore and as long as your body is used to it. Swimming and yoga is the best form of exercise for pregnant women.

“When I was pregnant, nothing stopped me from doing yoga, wearing heels, hosting my TV show, travelling and even wearing a bikini. I enjoyed life as much as I enjoyed my pregnancy and it paid off. My 2 boys are happy and healthy,” shares Amanda.

Can I drink coffee?
Yes you can, 200mgs of caffeine is allowed per day. You can drink anything with caffeine but with minimal intake. Tea, chocolates, and also diet sodas has caffeine but it has minimal amount of caffeine as well as milk tea and decaf coffee. Latte has 95mgs caffeine says Dra. Christia Padolina and Dra. Angel Bandola.

Can I eat sashimi?
Yes you can. Eating sashimi will not harm you especially your baby. You just have to wash everything you eat especially when it’s raw like sashimi in order to diminish all the germs and bacteria. But if you’re skeptical about it just think of the people in Japan who loves to eat sashimi and raw food even when they’re pregnant. You can go for tuna or salmon.

*******************

One big pregnancy myth

The ProMama council of fit and fab moms Amanda Griffin-Jacob, Delamar Arias and Tricia Chiongbian-Concepcion are walking testaments to the fact that life is further enriched by pregnancy. Tricia, a known health enthusiast, still continues on with her fit lifestyle that includes running a couple of miles a day in spite of expecting her second child this September; Delamar who’s part of a popular radio show, doesn’t let morning sickness or hormones tone done her
natural exuberance and humor in hosting her program; and finally, 2-time mom Amanda Griffin-Jacob hasn’t succumbed to what she calls the “mommy meltdown” and is still considered to be one of the most beautiful faces in Philippine showbiz.

“It’s our goal for pregnant women to live and love their pregnancy,” says Amanda. “Every pregnancy should be celebrated; women should feel nurtured by doing the things that can make them feel confident. Being fit and fab during pregnancy should be every expecting mother’s goal!”

To fit and fab pregnancy

If there’s one thing that’s definitely not a myth, it’s the fact that pregnant women should take special care of their nutritional needs. Wyeth Nutrition, makers of ProMama, understands this, and wants every woman to fully enjoy the journey of pregnancy. A nutritional milk drink designed to support women—and not just the unborn baby—during pregnancy. ProMama focuses on the life giver to address the needs of both mother and child.

“The fulcrum of each family is the mother. Without her, the family would fall apart—emotionally, mentally, physically, psychologically. Wyeth Nutrition fully acknowledges these values with ProMama, the milk that takes care of mothers so they can take care of their children,” says Anonuevo.

Only ProMama contains the Pro-Nutri Builders, ingredients that support the health and development of both mother and child during pregnancy. These include Maternal Immunity Enhancers like Beta Carotene, which has antioxidant and immunostimulatory properties, and Vitamins C, E and A, which also helps promote good vision and cellular growth. Pro-Nutri Builders are also targeted for the growing baby. ProMama has Mental Enhancers like DHA, a nutrient important for a child’s visual and mental development; Folic Acid, which is essential for the development of the nervous system and in preventing neural tube defects; and Zinc, which assists in fetal neurodevelopment. ProMama’s formula also contains Bone and Muscle Builders such as Vitamin D, important for calcium metabolism and to support an unborn baby’s bone and teeth development; Protein, the building block of all tissues; and Calcium, which supports bone development.

ProMama, which is available in Vanilla Delight Flavor, has only 15 percent of calories from fat. Just two servings of ProMama daily can help promote appropriate weight gain during pregnancy.

***********

Well aside from learning a lot I also had the chance to meet these fit and fab Mama’s in person.

Here’s with Delamar Arias of The Morning Rush. Who would’ve thought that she’s 4mos pregnant?! She’s soooo beautiful, right?! Feeling ko nga mas muka pakong buntis sakanya! I’m an avid listener of The Kikay Barkada (who are now the Billboard Beauties) that’s why when I saw her at the event I didn’t think twice but to ask her for a picture which she agreed immediately. Then we made a quick chikahan about her super-kaduper cute son, Cooper.

Now here’s with another beautiful and fab Mama, Amanda Griffin-Jacob! Now who can tell that she gave birth just a few months ago?! Look how sexy and fit she is! My goodness! She’s definitely my body peg! Body lang di kakayanin ang height eh. Teehee!

And also I had the chance to meet the editor-in-chief, Women’s Health and Editorial Consultant, Runner’s World Ms. Lara Parpan who is obviously a certified fit and fab Mama too! She’s very humble and easy to talk to!

And also aside from meeting these wonderful ladies, they also prepared some activities for all the guests. They gave us a shirt and a pale of fabric pens and other art materials so we can customized their giveaway shirts.

And here’s my final product:

Daig pa ng grade 1 ung gawa ko noh?! 😛

Aside from the fun artsy-crafty activity, a brunch was also serve before they started the program.

This day was indeed a very productive day for me! I had a great time! I learned A LOT and it helped me so much. I hope it helps you too especially those first time Moms! For me, getting pregnant and being a Mom is not an excuse not to take care of yourself, I mean physically.. if you get my drift. Being fit and fab during pregnancy should be every expecting Mom’s goal. Eat the right food, take your vitamins, go exercise, feel good and look good, and don’t forget to drink Wyeth Promama milk for a healthier pregnancy. Remember that Wyeth Promama is a nutritional milk drink designed to support women—and not just the unborn baby—during pregnancy. ProMama focuses on the life-giver to address the needs of both mother and child. And also, please bear in mind that being pregnant is not an excuse to eat a lot of food, it doesn’t mean that you always have to eat for two. You just have to eat properly together with proper diet and you’re good. That’s exactly what I did when I was pregnant with Cyler. And look at me after giving birth I was able to get back in my normal weight, shape, and size in a short period of time. If I can do it,I bet you can do it too! So let’s go for a fit and fab pregnancy! A healthier you means a healthier baby!

How about you? What is the weirdest pregnancy myths that you ever heard? Care to share? I love to hear your thoughts!

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

