Baking + A Weekend Trip in My Hometown

It’s been awhile since I went home to Antipolo, my hometown. The last time we’ve been here was when my Tito died (sigh) last month. And it feels so good to be back! Sobra! I feel rejuvenated. I so love my hometown and I had so many great memories in this place because I’ve been here since the day I was born, the only time I left my hometown was when I got married to Cj. You know if I will be given a chance to live again, I will still choose to live here in Antipolo. This place is such a wonderful place to be most especially when I want to escape from the hustle and bustle of the metro.

And since I miss my family so much we decided to pay a visit to my hometown last weekend. The weather wasn’t good when we reached Sumulong Hi-way and the road was zero visibility already! But don’t worry, we’re all good and we have arrived home safely. πŸ™‚

20130729-140319.jpg

Oh before we headed to Antipolo we dropped by at Robinson’s metro east in Cainta to delivered these cupcakes to the winner of TSN‘s giveaway. The name of the winner is Diane and glad to know that she liked the cupcakes! Yay! As a matter of fact, she wrote a sweet post on her blog(yes, she’s a blogger too! Small world right?) for Sweet Treats you can read it here. Thanks a lot, Diane and nice meeting you! πŸ™‚

20130729-142735.jpg20130729-142729.jpg

After delivering the cupcakes off we went to Antipolo! Weeeee! πŸ™‚

When Cyler grow up I want my him to experience the magnificent beauty of nature here in Antipolo. I want him to experience playing in the backyard, running in the fields, experimenting with plants, climbing in the trees, and harvesting fresh fruits. Unfortunately those are the things that he will never experience here in the metro, right? And aside from discovering nature, he also have so many playmates in Antipolo, no need to go in the park or play area just to have playmates. All of his cousins are here and their all excited to see and play with Cyler.

20130729-141955.jpg

Now this is my favorite part of the house– the kitchen! I really miss cooking and baking here in our kitchen. Kaya naman every time I’m here I make sure that I bake or cook something for the whole family. I spend most of my time in the kitchen when I’m here preparing for my family’s food. And I don’t care kahit nakakapagod, worth it naman eh especially when they love the food that I prepared for them. It’s really heartwarming. Ako ang reyna ng kusina namin pag andito ako. πŸ™‚

20130729-142018.jpg

Please excuse my messy baking table. Those are all mine! HAHA!

And since I’m here my nephew, Drake requested if I can bake his birthday cake and so I granted his wish! His birthday only happens once in a year so who am I to refuse, right? And besides I want my cakes and cupcakes to become part of every occasion here in our family and I want it to become part of their childhood memories too. πŸ™‚

And so ayun na nga, napasubo na ang lola ninyo kaya pinanindigan ko na. Yung cupcake ko nag-upgrade na, naging cake na this time!

So ladies and gentlemen, here’s the labor of my love for my family!

Tadaaaaah!

20130729-141931.jpg

Top view

Muka namang edible cake diba? πŸ˜›

20130729-141937.jpg

side view

In fairnes, improving naman diba?! Hahaha! (Mamilit daw ba? Ok fine!) I have to work on the frosting more mejo failed pa, it supposed to be fondant kaso I forgot my ingredients in our house in Manila so I ended up with buttercream frosting instead.

Oh and wait there’s more! I also baked cupcakes to match his birthday cake. πŸ™‚

20130729-142116.jpg

And the verdict?! The birthday boy loved it! He super loved his cake and cupcakes! As a matter of fact, he couldn’t wait for his birthday anymore when he saw the cupcakes and cake. He kept on asking me if they can eat it already and I kept on saying “matulog ka muna, bukas pa birthday mo!”. LOL! Kuliiiiiit! Sa sobrang excited nya ininvite nya lahat ng bata sa compound! πŸ˜›

20130729-143039.jpg

And his 6th birthday became more special because of the cake and cupcakes. YAY! Actually, binilhan sya ng isa pang cake ng Daddy nya kaso ayaw nya daw dahil may mas magandang cake na daw sya. Hahaha! Talaga ‘tong batang ‘to! And guess what? Hindi nya pinakain ung cake na ginawa ko kasi dadalhin daw nya sa school nila para ipakita sa mga classmates nya. Aahhhhhhh… sweet!

Take 1: Dahil sa sobrang excite nya, sinisindihan pa lang ung cake hinihipan na nya! HAHAHA!

20130729-143105.jpg

Okay, relax Drakey. Take 2!

Happy 6th Birthday again, Drakey! We love you so much, dear!

20130729-142005.jpg

And since he’s going to have another birthday celebration on his school, his Lola ordered more cupcakes for his teacher and classmates. So I baked 50 more cupcakes for his school party. Bongga! πŸ™‚

20130729-142124.jpg

Aside from the birthday celebration, one of the highlights of our stay there was when Cyler experienced riding a tricycle. Look at his different facial expression. Haha! It wasn’t his first time to ride a trike, it just that it’s really windy then. It’s the cutest reaction I’ve ever seen! πŸ™‚

20130729-142025.jpg

Here’s his actual reaction while riding in the trike. I find it cute! πŸ™‚

Actually, prior to those reaction eto talaga ang initial reaction ni Cyler pag sakay nya ng trike. Epic! ;p

20130729-231814.jpg

Da face! Nyahahaha!

That was a tiring yet fun weekend at my hometown with my whole family. And we did have the time of our life! Truly, there’s no other place like home, right? πŸ™‚

Can’t wait to be back in Antipolo again!

6 thoughts on “Baking + A Weekend Trip in My Hometown

  1. ang sweet naman ng pamangkin mo. very proud sa cake at cupcakes na gawa ni tita sha. i miss baking too. ilang weekends na rin ako di nakakapag-cupcakes. i wanna make cheesecake again kaya lang ako lang ang kumakain nun dito sa bahay. hehe.

  2. Yummmers!!

    You never fail to make me drool over your baked goods, sister! πŸ™‚
    Bakit ba kasi ang layo layo niyo ni Maggie! 😦

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

