KMS Cooks: Homemade Crepe Recipe

Amidst the heavy rain yesterday, I couldn’t stop myself from cooking and experimenting in the kitchen. When I woke up from my afternoon nap yesterday, suddenly I had this light bulb moment. I thought of cooking homemade crêpe for our merienda, so I googled the recipe right away! Agad agad! Wala ng patumpik-tumpik pa baka masira ang moment! Thank goodness because I got the right recipe for my homemade crêpe. And you know what’s good about this recipe? No need to use a special gourmet crepe pan or crêpe maker! A small nonstick pan will do the trick.

All you need is kasipagan and kagandahan! Choz!

IMG_7688

Here’s a simple yet delicious crêpe batter recipe which can be made in a minutes! Making crepes at home is as easy as cooking pancakes. Yep, as easy as 1,2,3! Bongga diba?

Watchunid:

  • 1 cup all-purpose sifted flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted 

Easy-Peasy Steps:
1. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour and eggs. Gradually add milk and water, whisk until well combine. Add salt and melted butter until smooth.
2. Lightly grease your non-stick skillet with oil/butter over medium heat. I suggest you use non-stick skillet to make sure the crepes wont stick and in perfect shape.
3. Pour a scoop of batter onto the pan, tilt the pan over a circular motion so that the batter coats the surface evenly.
4. Cook the crêpe for about a minute or two until the bottom is light brown. Turn and cook the other side. Repeat with the remaining batter. Yun na!
5. Serve hot!

20130822-151026.jpg

These versatile crêpe can be dressed up with sweet or savory toppings. You can add whip cream, fruits, nuts, veggies, cold cuts, tuna, salad dressing, chocolate syrup, or any kind of syrup to jazz up your crêpe! Oh and you can also top it with ice cream! YUMMMMMMM! Go beyond what makes your tummy happy! For our crêpe, I used melted chocolate and it taste almost like my favorite nutella crêpe at Cafe Breton! I drizzled it with lotsa chocolate droplets and a dash of confectioner sugar and viola! I died when I tasted it, it’s purely heaven! Pinky swear! I wanted to put more fruits like strawberry, peaches, kiwi, or banana unfortunately it’s raining cats and dogs (and birds and dragons!) outside so I just used whatever is available in our pantry. Anyhoot, madami pa namang next time!

So next time whip up this classic crêpe dessert at your next dinner, lunch, or merienda to end your family meal with a bang!

Happy cooking, baby! 😛

8 thoughts on “KMS Cooks: Homemade Crepe Recipe

  1. i also tried making crepes during the weekends, kaso pancake batter yung ginamit ko and I added milk. I just made sure na manipis lang ung mix na niluto to ensure na crepe ung kalalabasan instead of a normal pancake and it works as well 🙂

    Will try this para from scratch talaga ang peg. Thanks Sha! 🙂

    • No worries, Joanne! 🙂

      Yes, actually pwde din yun pero I guess iba yung texture ng pancake compare to crepe. Mejo bland din ang crepe compare to pancake so eto need talaga ng mga toppings or fillings. 🙂

  2. wow! I would love to to try this soon…my baby and my hubby will surely like this home-made recipe…I hope I can make it a perfect one so my family will enjoy eating it all.. 🙂

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

