Hokkaido Ramen: Santouka

Aside from Italian cuisine, one of the dishes that Cj and I really love the most is Japanese cuisine most particularly ramen. Whenever were out for dinner one the restaurants that we used to search for is Japanese resto and since I used to cook pasta dishes most of the time. Cj and I don’t always agree with each other when it comes to food since he’s a terrible picky-eater but there’s only one food that we always agree on– Japanese food! Because we both love it.

IMG_1672

Recently, I, Cj, and our other friends discovered this newly opened ramen haven at Glorietta. The name of the resto is Santouka, it is located at the Ground Floor of Glorietta 4. It is near Outback and Mercury Drug and in front of F21 SM, Makati. Cj and I both agreed that Santouka is indeed a ramen haven. In fairness, nagkasundo kami dyan sa bagay na yan. Teehee!

I love the OC-ness and cleanliness of this restaurant.

IMG_1673

As well the modern and classy look and feel of the resto. It has indeed an inviting ambiance too.

IMG_1699

Oh and I love their Christmas ornaments! It reminds me that Christmas is just around the corner. πŸ™‚

IMG_1674

Aside from these things, one of the things that we really enjoyed the most was their food. Super thumbs up talaga kasama pati thumb sa paa!

IMG_1668

They have Γ  la carte and set menu, we chose the set menu.  The waiters said that the set menu is good for one person only but I guess it’s good for two persons because of its generous servings. I guess it also depends kung gano kalakas ung ka-date mo. LOL! You can also upgrade your ramen from small bowl to regular bowl, or small bowl to large bowl. Either of the two and there’s an additional charge.

I forgot which particular set did we order but our main course was the prawn-tempura. For our ramen, we chose the Shoyu or the soy sauce. They’ve got two different kinds of soup for ramen, they have Shoyu (soy sauce) and Miso (soybean paste). You can choose between the two.

IMG_1685

The set has unlimited Japanese rice (para sa mga pang construction-worker kung kumain like my husband.LOL!), kimchi, fresh-garden salad,  ramen, and this prawn-tempura. I really like their tempura it literally is a “PRAWN” tempura unlike other tempura who claims to be PRAWN tempura but once you bite it you can’t even see or taste the prawn because of the breading. This one, it was purely prawn talaga. In fact, nag duda pako and I thought may extender lang or something but boy oh boy I was wrong because it was prawn talaga.

IMG_1691

Btw, the set menu has egg pudding too. You can actually choose between this or native egg. This egg pudding is top with salmon egg. My husband liked it but I didn’t like it at all because it was too malansa for me. Well the waiters give us a heads up naman about the taste but we just want to give it a try that’s why we ordered it. Masarap naman pero malansa lang talaga masyado.

IMG_1690

We also ordered Pork Gyoza which we also liked too. But I still prefer the veggie gyoza unfortunately they don’t have it here.

IMG_1687

Our friends ordered the other set menu that has Pork Tonkatsu. And it’s the very first time that I fell in love with pork tonkatsu. Santouka’s pork tonkatsu is crispy in the outside but oh-so tender and juicy and the inside! I’m not a fan of pork tonkatsu because I find the taste bland but this one is truly an exceptional. And I love their teriyaki sauce too! It’s indeed a perfect combination!

IMG_1695

I really enjoyed the food here as well as their service. It’s almost closing time when we went here but the crew are still attentive. And the service was impressive too.

Aside from the great and superb food, it’s also the company that I really enjoyed the most. πŸ˜‰

Meet my friend, Chino and Jim. πŸ™‚

IMG_1676

Of course, my husband Cj and yours truly. Yes, double-date lang ang peg! πŸ™‚

IMG_1678

So if you’re looking for Japanese resto that serves authentic Japanese cuisine I highly recommend Santouka at Glorietta 4. It really is a must try baby! πŸ™‚

Please share your thoughts, I'd love to hear from you!

